The referendum on Britain’s place within the European Union is to be held on Thursday, June 23, 2016. This article contains some general information about the upcoming referendum.

Who can vote in the referendum?

If you are a UK or Gibraltar resident who is a citizen of the UK, Gibraltar, the Republic of Ireland, or any Commonwealth Country then you will be able to vote in the EU referendum. You will also be able to vote if you are a UK citizen who has lived abroad for no more than 15 years. 

Non-UK EU citizens will not be eligible to vote, with the exception of commonwealth members Cyprus (including TRNC*) and Malta, along with Ireland. 

You will also need to be 18 years of age on the as yet unannounced date of the referendum.

What will the question be?

The exact wording of the question which will be asked is known and will be: 

Should the United Kingdom remain a member of the European Union or leave the European Union?

Remain a member of the European Union

Leave the European Union

The question and answers will also be in Welsh in Wales.

What do the parties think?

No party has yet demanded that all of its members or elected representatives campaign or vote in a particular way. Considering this is such an important issue, it is unlikely that any party will be fully united (though one would probably like to think that Ukip would be united on this issue).

Parties which support a vote to Remain a member of the European Union:

  • Alliance Party
  • Green Party
  • Labour Party
  • Liberal Democrats
  • Plaid Cymru
  • Scottish National Party
  • Sinn Féin
  • SDLP
  • Ulster Unionist Party

Parties which support a vote to Leave the European Union:

  • Democratic Unionist Party
  • Ukip

Parties which are officially neutral:

  • Conservative Party

* TRNC = Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus